Anatomy Of The Female Reproductive System

Enquire Now

The female reproductive system includes:

  • Internal sex organs: ovaries, fallopian tubes, uterus, vagina, vulva, mammary glands and breasts. The uterus hosts the developing fetus, produces uterine secretions, and allows passage of sperm through to the Fallopian tubes; The ovaries, produce the female's egg cells.
  • The external sex organs: vulva, labia, clitoris and vaginal opening
The reproductive system is immature at birth and matures at puberty. At periodic intervals the ovaries release an ovum, which passes through the fallopian tube into the uterus. If it meets a sperm and merges with it and forms a zygote. The union of the sperm and egg usually occurs in the fallopian tubes. The zygote then divides and grows into an embryo and then a fetus. When the fetus has developed enough to survive outside, the cervix dilates and the uterus contracts to push the fetus into the world.

Female Reproductive SystemClick here to know more about Columbia Venus - A Comprehensive maternity care program.

Click here to know more about Breast Health Program.